The Big Five Communities of Interest

Originally, the ISE was designed to exist between the five major Federal Agencies that have an Intelligence Community component. Those are:

Since 2001, there has been significant progress toward effectively sharing information with the right people, at the right time, and in the right way. Effective post-9/11 innovations like the National Network of Fusion Centers, Joint Terrorism Task Forces, and interoperable systems allow analysts and investigators to gain access to relevant information in a way that maintains privacy protections, while promoting a culture of information sharing.

We are continuing to work on transforming our domestic information sharing architecture to realize greater efficiencies, to strengthen alignment across various information sharing initiatives, and to better identify, respond to, and prevent terrorist acts and other priority threats. We are exploring opportunities to leverage our nation's investments in counterterrorism and homeland security information sharing to accelerate progress with responsible cybersecurity information sharing.

All of these agencies have a business-driven need to collect and share terrorism-related information. Later on, that community was expanded to include "Non-title50" Agencies.